Why am I not happy?

Why am I not happy?

When I was little I figured that grown-ups could buy anything they wanted because they were adults, and this of course would make them happy. If I could have bought toys and sweets whenever I wanted I would have been happy! Well I was 5! As I got older I realised that work was the thing that gave you the opportunity to buy the happiness, to buy the stuff that would make me happy.

Then I got the “stuff”, got a little older and still couldn’t get that feeling, that all the pictures around me told me was happiness. Even with the iPhone offering “Happiness” apps most people still report being “dissatisfied” in their lives, and the How To books aren’t helping either! I believe we only need 4 steps to practice, the “How to be Happy” in our lives to achieve maybe not the hyped up silly grin on our faces at all times, type happiness, but at least an inner satisfaction that we are on the right course to being decent human beings, and just maybe happy enough.

How to be happy in 4 simple steps:

1. Be where you are. Don’t beat yourself up about where you should be, but keep your focus on the course ahead.

2. Your mind needs feeding, IF YOU ARE NOT GROWING YOU ARE DYING, do what you need to so you can learn new things, and feel good about that learning. Build a better you.

3. Smile at people, and do just 1 kind thing a day. Not in an American happy clappy way but it s like a happy bank that returns great interest, imagine that!!

4. In the age old serenity prayer by Reinhold Niebuhr “,Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, Courage to change the things I can, And wisdom to know the difference. Life gets a lot less stressful when you master this! A friend told me she went to a Zumba class last week for the first time and when she came out after shaking bum, boobs, and hips around for an hour, and a very strange thing happened. She came out and felt her femininity again, she got in touch with her body, and realised she had becoming a workingwoman with the spice taken out. In just 1 hour of learning something new she had learnt a whole lot more than Zumba! For me discovering something new, connecting the dots and going on a course, which fills me with motivation, inspiration and makes me laugh is the best happiness tonic.

Leave a Reply

